Latest Posts

Chief Minister dedicates Martyr Memorial in Mandi district

  • Chief Minister takes part in the Kargil Vijay Diwas programme through video conferencing.

Chief Minister Jai Ram Thakur participated in the Kargil Vijay Diwas programme organized in Mandi district through video conferencing from Shimla today.

On this occasion, the Chief Minister inaugurated Martyr Memorial built at Indira Market in Mandi at a cost of Rs. 15 lakh. This memorial is dedicated to the martyr’s of 1962, 1965 and 1971 and Kargil war of 1999. The names of all the martyrs are inscribed on this monument.

The Chief Minister said that the work of phase-2 of this Martyr Memorial was also be started.

Jai Ram Thakur paid tributes to all the martyr’s on the occasion of Kargil Vijay Diwas and said that this day is dedicated to those martyr who have sacrificed their life sacrifice for the nation. Under the strong will power and vibrant leadership of the then Prime Minister Late Atal Bihari Vajpayee, the soldiers of India responded to the nefarious designs of Pakistan in Kargil. This day of 26th July is observed in the entire nation as Kargil Vijay Diwas.

Chief Minister said that Himachal Pradesh is known for the valor, gallantry and sacrifices of its soldiers. In the Operation Vijay brave soldiers of the state presented their valor and 52 soldiers were martyred.

Till date, 1096 brave soldiers of the state have received gallantry awards. 1246 valiant soldiers of the state made supreme sacrifices  for protecting the mother land. Major Somnath Sharma, who received the first highest gallantry award, Param Vir Chakra was from Himachal Pradesh. In Kargil war, Captain Vikram Battara was awarded Paramveer Chakra posthumously and Rifleman Sanjay Kumar was also warded Paramveer Chakra for distinguished acts of valour during Kargil war.

Jai Ram Thakur said that besides the financial assistance of Rs. five lakh to each families of 52 martyred soldiers, government employment to one dependents of the families of 44 martyrs has also been provided. Financial assistance has also been provided to the disabled soldiers in this war and employment has been given to the nine disabled soldiers.


The Chief Minister said that the State Government has provided salary benefits to the ex-servicemen on the basis of service period in the army. He said that the government would also make necessary efforts to fill the backlog of ex-servicemen. He said that the renovation of Saurabh Van Vihar at Palampur would be done for which adequate funds will be made available. He said that the Sainik Welfare Board would be strengthened for the welfare of Ex-servicemen.

On this occasion, the Chief Minister administered oath through Video Conferencing to the people for being committed for preserving the glorious history of the country.

Sainik Welfare and Jal Shakti Minister Mahender Singh Thakur said that the brave soldiers of the state made their supreme sacrifice for the welfare of the country during every war. He said that to recruit youngsters in the army, a State level pre-coaching academy is being setup in Barchhwad of Sarkaghat in Mandi district.

Member of Parliament and State BJP President Suresh Kashyap said that every soldier is always ready to sacrifice his life for the nation. The State Government has taken many steps for the welfare of the soldiers.

Member of Parliament Ram Swaroop Sharma said that Himachal Pradesh is a land of valor. He said that various programmes have been launched for the welfare of families of soldiers and ex-servicemen in the state.

The Chairman of Himachal Pradesh Ex-Servicemen Corporation Brigadier Khushal Thakur thanked the Chief Minister for setting up a Martyr memorial in Mandi. He said that the stories of the bravery and valor of the brave soldiers of Himachal Pradesh are inspiring.

On this occasion, Deputy Commissioner of Shimla Amit Kashyap gave a detailed presentation and displayed short documentary about the Operation Vijay.

Deputy Commissioner Hamirpur and Director Sainik Welfare Department Harikesh Meena presented the vote of thanks.

The Education Minister Suresh Bhardwaj from Shimla, Chairman of Municipal Council Mandi Suman Thakur, Chairman of District Sainik League Col. Pratap Singh and BJP District President Ranveer Thakur from Mandi, Ex-Servicemen from various districts, Deputy Commissioner Mandi Rigveda Thakur, Superintendent of Police Mandi Gurdev Sharma, Superintendent of Police Shimla Omapati Jamwal, Senior officers of other districts and other dignitaries participated in this programme through video conferencing.