Latest Posts

Revenue laws to be simplified for public convenience: Mahender Singh

Revenue Minister Mahender Singh Thakur here today presided over the meeting of expert committee constituted by the state government on land laws. A detailed discussion was held on the work list for simplification of laws related to Revenue Department, in which members of the committee gave their suggestions on immediate disposal of court related matters of partition, mutation, demarcation and  corrections in entries etc.

Mahender Singh Thakur said that presently there are about 94902 cases pending in various Revenues courts in the state. These include 29313 cases of partition, 18025 cases of demarcation, 25251 cases of mutation, 2497 cases of correction in entries, 2837 cases of encroachment and 16790 other cases.

He said that Himachal government has made a provision of providing three biswa land for construction of house in rural areas and two biswa in urban areas to homeless and landless families. Besides this, provision of distribution of Nautaur land under Nautaur Rules in tribal areas has been made but due to implementation of Forest Conservation Act, the distribution of land was not being done in these areas. The committee had a detailed discussion for redressal of this issue.

The members of committee said that the cases of partition, mutation, demarcation and correction in entries often get delayed due to untimely delivery of summons, thus time bound delivery of summons should be ensured. Besides this, simplification of settlement process and utilization of technology were also suggested in the meeting.

Suggestions were also made to make necessary amendments in section 45,104 and 118 of HP Tenancy and Land-Reform Act, 1972 to make it more practical. Discussion was also held to improve the provision of section 118, so that its main objectives could be accomplished.

After discussion on various matters in the meeting, a sub-committee was constituted under the chairmanship of MLAs  Ram Lal Thakur, Jagat Singh Negi, Rakesh Singha, Narendra Thakur, Balbir Singh and Bikram Jaryal. The sub-committee would submit their recommendations on issues discussed in the meeting and other suggestions before 30th November, 2020.

 Additional Chief Secretary, Revenue RD Dhiman, Director Land Record C.P. Verma, Settlement officer Manmohan Sharma, official and non-official members were also present in the meeting.